Machine Learning for High Energy Physics, on and off the Lattice

Aula Renzo Leonardi (ECT* - Trento)

Aula Renzo Leonardi

ECT* - Trento

Strada delle Tabarelle, 286 38123 - Villazzano (TN) Italy
Andreas Athenodorou - Università di Pisa (Università di Pisa) , Dimitrios Giataganas - National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (National and Kapodistrian University of Athens) , Biagio Lucini - Swansea University (Swansea University) , Enrico Rinaldi - Arithmer Inc. Tokyo (Arithmer Inc. Tokyo) , Kyle Cranmer - New York University (New York University) , Constantia Alexandrou - University of Cyprus & The Cyprus Institute (University of Cyprus & The Cyprus Institute)

Machine Learning for High Energy Physics, on and off the Lattice 

Machine learning (ML) has been recently used as a very effective tool for the study and prediction of data in various fields of physics, from statistical physics to theoretical high energy physics. The aim of this workshop is to bring together active researchers on ML and Physics to interact and initiate a collaborative effort to investigate timely problems on Lattices and Theoretical High Energy Physics. Hence we invite scientists with research areas covering a broad spectrum to present their work. Some of the topics which will be highlighted are supervised and unsupervised identification of phase transitions on lattice models, applications of generative algorithms in the production of lattice configurations, applications of machine learning estimators in observables in Lattice QCD and the connection of ML with Renormalization Group as well as the gauge/gravity correspondence.


Invited Speakers

  • Barak Bringoltz (Nova Measuring instruments), 
  • Juan Carrasquilla (Vector Institute),
  • Marco Cristoforetti (FBK),
  • William Detmold (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • Robert De Mello Koch (University of the Witwatersrand/South China Normal University),
  • Tommaso Dorigo (INFN),
  • Shotaro Shiba Funai (Okinawa Institute and Science and Technology),
  • Koji Hashimoto (Osaka University),
  • Yang-Hui He (City, University of London & Oxford University),
  • Gurtej Kanwar (Massachusetts Institute of Technology),
  • Ava Khamseh (The University of Edinburgh),
  • Thomas Luu (Jülich Center for Hadron Physics),
  • Srijit Paul (University of Mainz),
  • Yannick Meurice (Iowa University)
  • Boram Yoon (Los Alamos National Laboratory),
  • Davide Vadacchino (INFN Pisa),
  • Sebastian Johann Wetzel (Perimeter Institute),
  • Andrei Alexandru (George Washington University)*


Contact: Staff ECT*
The agenda of this meeting is empty