1-5 July 2019
ECT* - Trento
Europe/Rome timezone
website under construction

Nuclear and astrophysics aspects for the rapid neutron capture process in the era of multimessenger observations

The rapid-neutron capture process (r-process) is responsible for producing around half of all nuclides heavier than iron. One site for the r-process was recently confirmed: the advanced LIGO and Virgo detectors observed two neutron stars merging and immediate follow-up observations were compatible with a kilonova, a thermal “afterglow” powered by radioactive decay of newly synthesized r-process material. Moreover, the observations indicated that neutron-star mergers produce a blue lanthanide-free signal followed by a red lanthanide-rich component, contrary to expectations. Although neutron-star mergers are now known to be r-process element factories, this might not be the only r-process site, and a comprehensive understanding and description of the r-process is still lacking.

This workshop will bring together theorists and experimentalists to address the many aspects of nuclear physics and astrophysics that must be considered and properly understood in order to model the r-process.

Main Topics:

  • Astrophysical site(s) of the rapid neutron capture process (r process)
  • Observational data related to the r process
  • Galactic chemical evolution and the r process
  • Sensitivity studies for the r process
  • Theoretical nuclear physics inputs for the r process
  • Nuclear physics experiments for the r process

Keynote participants:

Andreas Bauswein (Heidelberg ITS), Gabriele Cescutti (Osservatorio di Trieste, INA), Benoit Côté (Konkoly Observ.), Tobias Fischer (Univ. Wroclaw), Oliver Just (RIKEN), Birgitta Nordström (Copenhagen Univ.), Stephan Rosswog (Stockholm Univ.), Marius Eichler (TU Darmstadt), Carla Fröhlich (NC State Univ.), Gail McLaughlin (NC State. Univ.), Marco Pignatari (Univ. Hull), Stylianos Nikas (TU Darmstadt), Rebecca Surman (Univ. Notre Dame), Friedrich-Karl Thielemann (Univ. Basel), Jutta Escher (Lawrence Livermore), Stephane Hilaire (CEA/DAM), Jérôme Margueron (IPN Lyon), Matthew Mumpower (Los Alamos), Leo Neufcourt (NSCL), Frédéric Nowacki (Univ. of Strasbourg/CNRS), Nils Paar (Univ. of Zagreb), Alejandro Algora (IFIC, Valencia), Marco La Cognata (INFN-LNS), Iris Dillmann (TRIUMF), Yury Litvinov (GSI), Dennis Mücher (Univ. Guelph), Shunji Nishimura (RIKEN), Artemis Spyrou (NSCL, MSU)


                   ECT*                                 FBK                                ENSAR2      

ECT* - Trento
Meeting room
Strada delle Tabarelle, 286 38123 - Villazzano (TN) Italy

Registration period:  01 March 2019 to 10 June 2019

ECT* website


Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now