

WORKSHOP

Quantum sensing and fundamental physics with levitated mechanical systems

Trento, 31 July – 3 August 2023

ORGANIZERS

Andrea **Vinante** (CNR-IFN, Trento/I) Dmitry **Budker** (Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz/D) Hendrik **Ulbricht** (University of Southampton/UK) Gabriel **Hetet** (Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris/F) Angelo **Bassi** (University of Trieste/I)

ABSTRACT

The workshop Quantum sensing and fundamental physics with levitated mechanical systems aims at bringing together theorists and experimentalists working in the field of levitated nano/micromechanical systems, using various platforms (optical, electrical, magnetic) and in related fields in order to discuss the most recent results and exchange ideas in order to explore new opportunities in quantum sensing and fundamental physics.

TOPICS

Levitated optomechanics, levitated magnetomechanics, levitated micro and nanosensors, hybrid quantum systems, spin-mechanics, search for dark matter or modified gravity or new physics beyond the standard model, fundamental science in space.

SPEAKERS

Felix Ahrens (CNR-IFN, Trento) - Markus Aspelmeyer (Wien University) Yehuda Band (Ben Gurion University) - Matteo Carlesso (Trieste University) Andrejs Cebers (Latvia University) - Derek Jackson-Kimball (California State University East Bay) Ron Folman (Ben Gurion University) - Mark Freeman (Alberta University) Tim Fuchs (Leiden University) - Alexander Heidt (Hannover University) Gerard Higgins (Chalmers University) - Francesco Marin (Firenze University) Nadine Meyer (ETH Zurich) - James Millen (King's College London) - David Moore (Yale
University) - Tracy Northup (Innsbruck University) - Lukas Novotny (ETH Zurich) Mauro Patemostro (Queen's University Belfast) - Maxime Perdriat (ENS Paris) Martin Plenio (Ulm University) - Martino Poggio (Basel University) Antonio Pontin (University College London) - Oriol Romero-Isart (Innsbruck University) DaLi Schaefer (Harvard University) - Ben Stickler (Duisburg-Essen University) Chris Timberlake (Southampton University) - Marko Toros (Glasgow University) Jason Twamley (Okinawa Institute of Science & Technology) - Christian Vogt (Bremen University)
- Tao Wang (IMRE Singapore) - Bill Weber (Trento University) - Wei Ji (Mainz University)

Director of ECT*: Professor Gert Aarts

The ECT* is part of the Fondazione Bruno Kessler. The Centre is funded by the Autonomous Province of Trento, funding agencies of EU Member and Associated states, and by INFN-TIFPA and has the support of the Department of Physics of the University of Trento. For the organization please contact: ECT* Secretariat – Villa Tambosi – Strada delle Tabarelle 286 | 38123 Villazzano (Trento) – Italy | Tel.:(+39-0461) 314723, E-mail: staff@ectstar.eu or visit http://www.ectstar.eu



